Names in the News







R. Edwards

- R. W. Bates (1942), who was with Armour and Company for over 35 years, is now with the Chemical Division of General Mills, Inc., at Kankakee, Ill. He is listed as a Senior Development Chemist in the Diisocyanate Poly-
- R. L. Edwards (1945) has been appointed vice president for marketing of Eastman Kodak's Distillation Products Industries division. Edwards was formerly general sales manager of the DPI division, a position he held since 1957. During his 30 years with DPI, Edwards has worked on vacuum pumping fluids, was supervisor of Vitamin E production and sales manager of the oil department.
- G. F. CZEMBA (1964) has been promoted to vice president in charge of sales and services for Hayes G. Shimp, Inc. He will continue to represent the company as technical advisor on visual color instrumentation.

Elected to the newly created position of Chairman of the Board of the Soap and Detergent Association has been W. A. Hahn, a vice president of Colgate-Palmolive and 1966 president of SDA. E. S. Pattison (1951) will succeed Hahn as president. Pattison will continue his former duties as secretary, and will supervise SDA's staff and activities.

- T. II. Applewhite (1959) has been appointed research director for Pacific Vegetable Oil Corporation. Formerly in charge of oil chemistry investigations at the Western Regional Laboratory, Applewhite was 1964 chairman of the Northern California Section of AOCS. J. A. KNEELAND (1947), former research director, has moved to the new post of planning director. He will work with J. R. Smith (1959), vice president, in long range planning and product development. R. H. Purdy (1954), edible oils technical service director, has assumed additional responsibilities as head of the company's quality control laboratories.
- G. E. Inglett (1956) has been named chief of research on cereal properties at the USDA Northern Regional Laboratory. He will be in charge of research on starches, proteins and other components of corn, wheat, sorghum and other cereal grains. Before joining USDA, Inglett managed research on foods and natural products at International Minerals and Chemicals Corporation of Libertyville, Ill.
- J. G. Taylor has been appointed to the newly created position of director of manufacturing by the Girdler Catalysts department of the Chemetron Chemicals division of the Chemetron Corporation, Louisville, Kentucky. Taylor was formerly general works manager of Northern Chemical Industries at Searsport, Maine.
- C. R. Blumenstein (1962) will now serve as vice president of research and development of Texize Chemicals, Greenville, S. C. He was formerly technical director of the department.

• Section News

Northeast Section

Sixth Annual Unit Process Symposium

The Northeast Section of AOCS will hold a one-day symposium entitled "Nutritional Aspects of Fats and Oils, at Military Park Hotel, Tuesday, April 4, 1967.

The speakers are all acknowledged leaders in their respective fields of study and will be presenting topics of current interest; in addition, they will be available for informal discussions during the luncheon period. Repeating the arrangements of previous years, each speaker will be seated at a different table, and those registering early for the symposium may list their preferences for choice of table

seating.

The speakers for the all-day symposium and the topics to be presented are as follows: P. R. Holt, Director, Gastro Intestinal Unit, Department of Medicine, Saint Luke's Hospital, "Physiologic and Clinical Studies of Medium Chain Triglycerides"; Hans Fisher, Professor, Department of Animal Science, College of Agricultural & Environmental Science, Rutgers University, "Pectins, Cholesterol and Arteriosclerosis"; E. Kendell, Professor of Biochemistry, Goldwater Memorial Hospital, Columbia University, "Relationships Between the Pattern of Carbohydrate Nutrition tionships Between the Pattern of Carponydrate Nutrition and Lipid Metabolism"; J. L. Knittle, Assistant Professor, Rockefeller University, "Studies of Adipose Tissue Cellularity (Obesity)"; Donald McKay, Chairman of the Department of Pathology, Columbia University, "Disseminated Thrombosis Produced by Oxidized Lipid Diets"; H. M. Sinclair, Professor of Biochemistry, Oxford University, "Function of Essential Fatty Acids."

This symposium has been the responsibility of the chairman, Hans Kaunitz of Columbia Presbyterian Hospital.

The co-chairman is Robert Casparian.

North Central Section

Lundberg Address on Lipids in Vascular Disease

On March 15, 1967, the North Central Section of The American Oil Chemists' Society will hold its Annual Alton E. Bailey Award Dinner. The Meeting will be held at the Swedish Club, 1258 N. LaSalle St., Chicago, Ill. A social hour will begin at 6:00 PM, with dinner scheduled for

6:30 PM, followed by presentation of the award.

The 1967 recipient of the Alton E. Bailey Award is W. O. Lundberg, Director, Hormel Institute, Austin, Minn. The Section is happy to announce that Dr. Lundberg will be present to receive the award in person and will speak on "The Confusion About Lipids in Vascular Disease."

Companies sponsoring the Alton E. Bailey Award are as follows: Anderson Clayton & Company; Archer Daniels Midland Company; Cargill, Inc.; Central Soya Company; Corn Products Company; The DeLaval Separator Company; Distillation Products Industries; Durkee Famous Foods; General Mills, Inc.; S. C. Johnson & Son, Inc.; Liquid Dynamics; Oscar Mayer & Company; Mead Johnson Research Center; National Dairy Products Corporation; E. H. Sargent & Company.

The Bailey Award Dinner is always the outstanding meeting of the year; members are urged to make their

reservations early.

Election of Officers Scheduled

At this meeting we will also have our election of officers for the coming year. The nominating committee offers the following slate for your approval: President, Robert Reiners; Vice-President, Frank Norris; Secretary, George Rimnac; Treasurer, George Jackson. Members-at-large to serve a two-year term: E. Brinkmeyer and B. Greenwell. Members-at-large to serve for one remaining year of a two-year term: H. Spannuth and J. Endres. Other nominations may be entered from the floor.

Send your reservation card or phone St 2-2455. Next meeting date is May 24, 1967.